Orange County is situated in the Metropolitan Los Angeles, California. It has a huge population noted to be among the most populous counties in California as well as in the whole of U.S. The most densely populated cities in Orange County are: Huntington Beach, Anaheim, Irvine, and Santa Ana (the county seat). A few cities located in this county are found on the western coast of the Pacific Ocean such as San Clemente, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Newport Beach, and Huntington Beach. It neighbors counties like Los Angeles County, Riverside County, San Diego County, and San Bernadino County.


Initially, the area was inhabited by members of Native American Groups Juaneño, Luiseño and, Tongva. The area was named Valle de Santa Ana by Junipero Serra, a Spanish expedition leader. This was after the Gaspar de Portolà expedition of 1769. Later, in 1776, Mission San Juan Capistrano turned out to be the original permanent European settlement in the area. Between 1878 and 1888, three cities were incorporated. These were: Anaheim, Santa Ana, and Orange.

Continue reading